Inaugural Women in ICT – Partnership for Change Awards announces finalists in the different categories

MTN SA has announced the finalists who will be vying for the coveted winner’s prize in various categories in the Women in ICT – Partnership for Change Awards.

The announcement of the finalists follows an intensive adjudication process where a panel of judges examined the nominations submitted. 

The Women in ICT – Partnership for Change Awards is a pioneering women recognition programme that was launched by MTN in partnership with Kagiso Media’s Jacaranda FM and East Coast Radio.

The awards are segmented into eight categories to cater for female contribution across the broad spectrum of the industry. The shortlisted nominees are:

Leadership Recognition Award:

  • Aisha Mohamed
  • Mmaki Jantjies
  • Christelle Van der Merwe

 Innovator Recognition Award:

  • Stephanie Cowper
  • Amelia Thiart
  • Paula Sartini

 Community Builder:

  • Dianne Broodryk
  • Baratang Miya
  • Mmaki Jantjies 

Outstanding Women Award:

  • Zimkhita Buwa
  • Vuyokazi Menye
  • Mmaki Jantjies

 The Entrepreneur Award:

  • Irene Charnley
  • Nomsa Nteleko
  • Aisha Pandor

Excellence in Journalism:

  • Thabiso Mochiko
  • Paula Gilbert
  • Simnikiwe Mzekandaba

 Graduate Award:

  • Ghislaine Livie Ngangom Tiemeni
  • Sharon Rao-Farista
  • Eva Ramaila

“We are encouraged by the calibre of the women who were nominated for our Women in ICT – Partnership for Change Awards initiative. The adjudication panel faced a challenging task of arriving at a decision considering the calibre of the nominations submitted. The quality of the submissions validates an initiative of this nature and demonstrates the immense contribution that women have made to the growth of the ICT sector in South Africa.

We wish to congratulate all the finalists in the different categories and wish them luck in the finals. I also wish to express my sincerest gratitude to the judging panel that has taken the time to participate in the adjudication process,” said Mteto Nyati, Chief Executive Officer: MTN SA.

The Women in ICT – Partnership for Change Awards is a programme that seeks to recognise the role that women are playing to the development of the ICT sector. The initiative is also geared at attracting female professionals to the ICT sector by showcasing available career opportunities in the industry that is still male dominated.

The winners in the inaugural edition of the Women in ICT – Partnership for Change Awards will be announced on 31 August 2016 at a gala function which will be held at Hyde Park in Johannesburg


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here