24.3 C
Tuesday, May 21, 2019
Home Breaking News Distribution of digital TV set-top-boxes begins in SA

Distribution of digital TV set-top-boxes begins in SA

The Minister of Communications, Faith Muthambi, is set to kick start for the country the process of installing the free digital television set top boxes (STB) as the country’s much delayed migration to a new broadcasting platform gains momentum. By Ujuh Reporter

The process is set to be kick started at Keimoes, Kai Garib Municipality, in the Northern Cape on the 17th of December, 2015.

Keimoes is located within the Square Kilometre Array (SKA) area, where the world’s largest radio telescope will be built.

Muthambi will oversee installation of the first batch of government subsidised STBs to the community of Keimoes. “The installation of government’s fully subsidised set-top-boxes starts here in the Square Kilometre Array (SKA) area. Television viewing experience will never be the same for many households here in the Northern Cape,” said Muthambi.

Government will distribute 23 thousand set-top-boxes free of charge to the community around the SKA area in the Northern Cape. These goes to households in the Northern Cape who have registered to receive government set-top-boxes in line with government’s commitment to provide 5 million indigent household owners in possession of TV sets, with free decoders. The registration process was kick started by Muthambi at a public event in Keimoes at the beginning of October 2015.

“This progress marks a significant milestone of the Broadcasting Digital Migration project”, said Muthambi.

“The SKA area in the Northern Cape was identified as the place where the digital migration project will first be implemented. It is quite fitting that this rollout starts here, given the huge leap forward that the SKA represents in innovation and technological advancement,” added Muthambi.

This is the first installation of Digital Terrestrial STB’s in South Africa since the digital terrestrial television policy was gazetted in March 2015.

Towns around SKA area in the Northern Cape include: Brandvlei, Britstown, Calvinia, Carnavon, Fraserburg, Groblershoop, Kakamas, Keimoes, Kenhardt, Loeriesfontein, Marydale,  Nieuwoudtville, Pofadder, Springbok, Sutherland, Vanwyksvlei, Victoria West and Williston.

The South African Post Office, which is the distributing agent for the set-top-box devices on behalf of government, will be onsite to explain the process of registering TV households. – Ujuh


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Must Read

Smile Telecoms Appoints Ex-MTN South Africa As New Group CEO

Ahmad Farroukh, a former CEO of MTN South Africa, has been appointed as Group Chief Executive Officer of Smile Telecoms. Farroukh is currently group executive...

Telkom’s Chairman-In-Waiting Sello Moloko Buys Stake in Tech Firm KID

Sello Moloko, Telkom's chairman-in-waiting, has bought a 40% stake in Knowledge Integration Dynamics (KID) for an undisclosed amount. Moloko has acquired the shareholding in KID...

African Bank Launches MyWORLD, A New “Shared Banking” Account

African Bank today officially launches its transactional banking offering called MyWORLD to South Africans. The bank said the introduction of MyWORLD has elevated it to...

VALR Launches Bitcoin-Rand Trading

VALR, a digital asset trading platform, is planning to launch rand trading, enabling its customers to buy Bitcoin with rand. The company said trading will...

How AI Is Transforming Business Travel

by Anique Drumright It’s no secret that the travel industry has become digital-first over the last several years. In fact, research shows that 60% of leisure and about...